Top Menu

The Jerzy Zubrzycki Postgraduate Conference Scholarship

Applications for the 2019 round closed June 3rd, 2019.

An annual prize awarded as one of the TASA Postgraduate Conference Scholarships for the best paper in the research areas of migration or cultural pluralism, or with the potential for contribution to public policy.

About the prize

The prize is to honour the work of Professor Jerzy Zubrzycki in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Australian sociology and to public policy in the areas of migration and cultural pluralism. The prize was established at the suggestion of, and with generous support from, the School of Sociology, Australian National University.

Jerzy Zubrzycki

Jerzy (George) Zubrzycki was born in Krakow, Poland on 12 January 1920. After distinguished war service in Poland and the United Kingdom he undertook studies at the London School of Economics and completed his PhD at the Free Polish University in London. In 1955 Prof. Zubrzycki accepted a post in the Research School of Social Sciences at the Australian National University (ANU). He continued to work at the ANU until his retirement in 1986, founding the Department of Sociology in 1970. Jerzy Zubrzycki wrote extensively on immigration and contributed to many government reports and inquiries on immigration and multiculturalism. He was President of SAANZ (the predecessor of TASA) in 1971–72 and he was the first editor of the Association’s journal, the Journal of Sociology. Professor Zubrzycki died in May 2009.

Portrait of Professor Jerzy Zubrzycki at his home in Yarralumla, Canberra, 14 August, 2007

Courtesy of The National Library of Australia 


The recipient of the prize will receive:

  • Registration for the annual conference;
  • Registration for the pre-conference TASA Annual Postgraduate Workshop;
  • Travel funding depending on location of recipient & the location of the conference in the year the scholarship is awarded;
  • A certificate.

For eligibility and application procedure, please follow the same instructions as for the TASA Postgraduate Conference Scholarships.

2018 Recipient

Tania Searle with TASA president Dan Woodman

2017 Recipient

Marina Khan, from Western Sydney University, was the 2017 Jerzy Zubrzycki Postgraduate Conference Scholarship recipient for their paper, Contested Ground: Migration Intermediaries and the State.

2016 Recipient

Oznur Sahin, Western Sydney University: Gender and Civic Engagement: The Bagcilar Municipality Women’s Council in Istanbul.

2015 - none

There were no conference scholarship applications, in 2015, that fitted the Jerzy Zubrzycki criteria.

2014 Recipient

2014 scholarship winner Fiona Proudfoot

2014 scholarship winner Fiona Proudfoot


2013 Recipient

Cathrin Bernhardt scholarship winner

Cathrin Bernhardt (La Trobe University)

I am grateful to the TASA award committee for granting me the opportunity to attend and present my PhD research findings to an expert audience at last year’s TASA conference. I not only appreciate the interest that TASA has showed in my research but also the opportunity to get valuable feedback on my findings, which I presented to the Migration, Ethnicity and Multiculturalism Group. The comments from experts in my research area are invaluable for my future research trajectories. Read on…

2012 Recipient

Olga Oleimikova (Saint Andrews College – Sydney University)

2011 Recipient

Mohammad Salehin (The University of Sydney)


In 2011 TASA issued the first Jerzy Zubrzycki Conference Scholarship Award to Mohammed Salehin (University of Sydney). The prize, which was established through the generous support of ANU, is to recognize the outstanding contribution to Australian sociology by Professor Zubrzycki. Mohammad’s thoughts on receiving the award can be downloaded in Word (21.4kb) and Pdf (19.7kb).