Top Menu

Risk Societies

Aims and objectives:
Risk has become pervasive in public and interdisciplinary debate in recent decades. The group brings together a broad range of topics and levels of analysis which encompass issues such as the adaptation to climate change, the management of new diseases, and the introduction of new technologies and the response to international terror as well as the management of social risks and risk regulation in areas such as health, crime and youth. This also includes individual responses to risk in everyday life and risk communication by the media. However, in political decision making and societal management of risk and uncertainty critical sociological perspectives to risk are often neglected. The group aims to establish a sociological perspective to risk and uncertainty as part of an interdisciplinary discourse on societal risk management.

The group provides the context to bring together risk research from different approaches (cultural, risk society, governmentality, systems theory or edgework) and domains to fertilise further theoretical developments on risk within sociology.

Established: July 2009

Jon Stokes & Geraldine Donoghue (12/16)

Group members:

  • Stewart Lockie
  • Jo-Anne Everingham
  • Gary Dowsett
  • Jason Prior
  • Alan Petersen
  • Dan Woodman
  • Sarah Palmer
  • Janice Ollerton
  • Fiona Haines
  • Jens O. Zinn
  • Amelia Johns
  • Alphia Possamai-Inesedy
  • Geraldine Donoghue
  • John Cash
  • Charlotte Fabiansson
  • Jan Hayes
  • Cassie Curryer
  • Anna Anderson
  • Gavin Smith
  • Vicki Sentas
  • Helen Keane
  • Kien Nguyen
  • Duane Duncan
  • Sophie Lewis
  • Alan Morris
  • Ingrid Muenstermann
  • Alexandra Gibson
  • Benjamin Glasson
  • Sandy Worden
  • Andreas Cebulla
  • Louise Keogh
  • Marcus Banks
  • Enqi Weng
  • Jon Stokes
  • Steve Matthewman
  • Sheena Mackie
  • Danielle Couch
  • James Pilbrow
  • Jodi Cowdery
  • Patrick Mthombeni
  • Samantha Sasin
  • Lynnette Hicks
  • Matthew Hart
  • Kate Woods
  • Fiona Simon
  • Erick Ater
  • Xiaoxuan Li
  • Julia Cook
  • Md Masud All Kamal
  • Kimberley Reis


Annual Reports: (no longer submitted)

Click here for the 2010 Annual Report