Top Menu

Sociology & Activism

Aims and objectives:

The primary aim of the Social Activism Thematic Group is to provide a means of bringing together academics and non-academics interested in exploring the relation between sociology and social activism. The guiding thematic focus of the group is: ‘sociology about and sociology for social activism’. In its ‘sociology about’ aspect it seeks to support theoretical and empirical work that advances knowledge in and around the field of sociology of social activism. This may include drawing on related fields of enquiry such as the sociology of social movements and the sociology of social change. In its ‘sociology for’ aspects its intent is to bring the critical capacities of sociology to inform the thinking about and to advance the actual practice of social activism. This purpose derives its inspiration from the wider movement in public sociology. The two aspects of the Group’s thematic focus are mutually informing and reflect a commitment to bring academic sociologists, sociology students and activists together in productive dialogue around understanding and advancing social activism.


Helen McKernan, Swinburne University of Technology and Grant Banfield, Flinders University

Group Members

  • Suzanne Franzway
  • Philippa Collin
  • Theresa L Petray
  • Helen McKernan
  • Debra King
  • Kim Spurway
  • Anna Anderson
  • Michael Flood
  • Mithzay Pomenta (De La Espriella)
  • Elizabeth Humphrys
  • Greg Stratton
  • Jae Eun Noh
  • Alexia Maddox
  • Jon Gray
  • Grant Banfield
  • Zoei Sutton
  • Alan Nixon
  • Nick Pendergrast
  • James Arvanitakis
  • Laura Rodriguez Castro
  • Isabel McIntosh
  • Alexander Waters
  • Michael Wilson
  • Claire Parfitt
  • Loreto Castanon Cespedes-Liarte
  • Kate Neely
  • Naomi Hadcroft
  • Chris Platania-Phung
  • Elly Leung
  • John McGuire
  • Rosemary Hancock
  • William Calcutt
  • Johanna Garnett
  • Ed Southorn
  • Aleesha Rodriguez
  • Sophie Rudolph
  • Justine Groizard
  • Jade Howell
  • Greg Swedosh
  • Ann Lawless
  • Kieran Bradley
  • James Milton
  • Daniel Reeders
  • Lee Steinbacher
  • Nina Rovis-Hermann
  • Simon Copland
  • Samantha Hauw
  • Gianluigi Rotondo