Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeJournal of Sociology
To modify this page, paste in the URL of the banner image. Get the banner image URL from clicking the clipboard icon in web graphics manager. Search for images in the "banner" category.

To modify the links on the right hand side, right click on the link and select "change link" from the popup context menu. The link will automatically format to have the arrow.

You may also use a submenu widget here instead of manual links. The awards pages names were too long for the submenu widget - page names have a maximum character length of 26 characters.

To change the image in the gray row (beneath the text) right click on the image, and choose "change image" from the context menu.

All other text should be selected and retyped.
Image 1 URL //
Image 1 URL //

Journal of Sociology

Aims and Scope 

The Journal of Sociology strives to publish original, high quality sociological scholarship in all its forms. We are committed to showcasing theory as well as applied sociology, incorporating both quantitative and qualitative research. We welcome interdisciplinary pieces with concerns that are sociological in nature, in an acknowledgement that sociological thinking takes place across a range of disciplines, such as in cultural, gender and organisation studies, and outside of the academy. The Journal engages in critical debate, through the development of special editions, book reviews, a commitment to emerging scholars and commentary on pressing issues. While the Journal is based in the Southern Hemisphere, and wishes to showcase intellectual works from the Asia-Pacific region, including Indigenous scholarship, we encourage submissions from across the globe.

Call for Expressions of Interest: JoS Editorship 2021 - 2024

Accordion Widget
Special Issue 2022: Call for Expressions of Interest to Guest Edit
Special Issue 2022: Call for Expressions of Interest to Guest Edit
The Journal of Sociology is an international journal published four times a year by Sage. Each year the Editors invite expressions of interest from the international community of sociological scholars to guest edit a Special Edition of the Journal. Special Editions may address any sociological theme that is likely to be of interest to the Journal’s readership.

Papers featured in special editions are subject to the normal process of peer review. Selection of papers and coordination of the peer review process will be the responsibility of the Guest Editors. Papers may be selected via invitation or a general ‘call for papers’ (organised by the guest editors). Final copy for this special edition is due on the third of September, 2021 and publication will be in March 2022.

Please submit expressions of interest of no more than 3000 words in length to Kate Huppatz and Steven Matthewman by Monday 22nd June, 2020. Expressions of interest should include the following information:

a) Contact details and brief biography for each Guest Editor

b) 300 word summary of the special edition theme, including rationale, aims and objectives, and significance of contribution to contemporary sociological thinking and research.

c) An indicative list of authors and papers to be featured in the special edition

Dr Kate Huppatz (Western Sydney University)

Associate Professor Steve Matthewman (University of Auckland)

Editors in Chief, Journal of Sociology

The journal has a biennial Best Paper in JoS Award. The 2019 winning article by Anna Anderson is available for free: Anderson, A. (2019) 'Parrhesia: Accounting for different contemporary relations between risk and politics'. Journal of Sociology,

Managing Editor:

Sky Hugman


  • Dr Sara Amin, The University of the South Pacific, Fiji.
  • Dr Marcelle Dawson, University of Otago, New Zealand.
  • Associate Professor Catriona Elder, The University of Sydney.
  • Dr Shawna Tang, The University of Sydney.
  • Professor Robert van Krieken, Professor of Sociology, Sydney University.
  • Professor Steven Ratuva, Director of Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Canterbury.
  • Dr Joshua Roose, Director of the Institute for Religion, Politics and Society, Australian Catholic University (ECR).
  • Professor Maggie Walter, Pro Vice-Chancellor of Aboriginal Research and Leadership, University of Tasmania.
  • Dr Robert Webb, Senior Lecturer, Criminology, The University of Auckland.
  • Associate Professor Holly Thorpe, Human Development and Movement Studies, The University of Waikato

Book Review Editor: 
Dr Clare Southerton, Aarhus University, Denmark

The National Expert Advisory Board can be viewed on the Sage website here.

Sample issues of JoS are available.

The Journal of Sociology was founded in 1965 , turning 50 in 2015. JoS Editor-in-Chief, Alphia Possamai-Inesedy has edited an E-Special as part of the celebration of both the Journal of Sociology and The Australian Sociological Association’s (TASA) 50th anniversary. This special issue provides the platform to examine the making of Australian sociology and the place of the Journal in the global sociological dialogue.

In his article Rethinking neoliberalism Mitchell Dean states that “There are many key questions concerning the current status of the notion of neoliberalism”. You can listen to Mitchell discussing his article here.

For further information on this journal, including submitting a manuscript, please go to the Sage website.

Kate Huppatz (L) and Steve Matthewman (R) congratulating Michelle Peterie on being the 2018 JoS Best Paper Award winner for Docility and Desert: government discourses of compassion in Australia’s asylum seeker debate

Journal of Sociology features high quality sociological scholarship in all its forms. We are dedicated to showcasing theory as well as applied sociology, quantitative and qualitative research. Interdisciplinary pieces are welcome, as are submissions from outside the academy. Based in the Southern Hemisphere and committed to intellectual works from the Asia-Pacific region, including Indigenous scholarship, we also encourage submissions from across the globe.

The full-text of over 90 peer-reviewed Sage journals encompassing over 63,000 articles are available online to TASA members.