Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomePostgraduate Sub Committee_New
postgrad SC_header



The postgrad sub-committee play a key role in supporting our TASA postgraduate members.
The sub-committee represents these members on TASA’s Executive Committee and is responsible for running a range of events and initiatives each year.

The first Postgraduate Executive position began in 2003 and it is now in its tenth successive term (2021-2022).
In 2013, the Postgraduate Sub-Committee was established by the then Postgraduate Executive Representative, Karen Soldatic, for the term 2013 – 2014.

Key areas of focus for the sub-committee include: establishing international networks with similar postgraduate organisations;
providing helpful resources, such as the postgraduate transition to employment; and developing TASA postgraduate web strategies.
Since forming, the committee has worked together on several projects, including the creation of this new website.

Meet our 2023-2024 Postgraduate Portfolio Leader below!

postgrad SC_p2

Richa Sarah George - Postgraduate Portfolio Leader

Richa George is a PhD candidate at the School of Social Sciences, Monash University. Her research explores the internet practices of diverse, young men in Australia and sits at the intersection of social media studies and masculinity scholarship. Her research interests include media audiences, qualitative research methods, masculinity studies, intersectionality, and decolonising scholarship.


Twitter: @thegeorgeteller


  • Mavis Boamah – Swinburne University
  • Natalie Calleja – University of Melbourne
  • Estelle Keerthana – Deakin University (stepped down February 12th, 2024)
  • Sarah Alzoubi – Western Sydney University (stepped down November 20th, 2023)
  • Caitlan McLean – Torrens University



TASA holds committee elections every 2 years.
The next one, in 2024, will nominate for 2025-2026 Executive positions.

For an outline of the election process, check our Terms of Reference.

Explore other ways to get involved with our Postgraduate Hub.

postgrad SC-image
Accordion Widget
Past Sub-Committees
Past Sub-Committees

2023 - 2024

Richa George - Monash University (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

Mavis Boamah – Swinburne University

Natalie Calleja – University of Melbourne

Estelle Keerthana – Deakin University

Sarah Alzoubi – Western Sydney University

Caitlan McLean – Torrens University

2021 - 2022

Anthony K J Smith (UNSW - Jan 2022) & Dorinda 't Hart (UWA - Jan 2022 - Nov 2022) (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

Richa George - Monash University

Bernardo Tomás Dewey - University of Western Australia

Sam Miles - Monash University

Laura Simpson Reeves - University of Queensland

Defeng Jin - University of New South Wales

2019 - 2020

Ben Lohmeyer (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

Marina Khan - Western Sydney University

Simon Copland - Australian National University

Claire Moran - Monash University

Emma Barnard - The University of Melbourne

Anthony Smith - The University of New South Wales

2017 - 2018

Ash Watson - UNSW (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

Ben Lohmeyer - Flinders University

Josie Anne Reade - University of Melbourne

Milovan Savic - Swinburne University of Technology

Zoei Sutton - Flinders University

2015 - 2016

Christina Malatzky - University of Melbourne (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

Ashlin Lee - University of Tasmania

Jennie Haarsager-Lieske - University of the Sunshine Coast

Laura Gobey - Deakin University

Ly Phan - University of Sydney

Monika Dryburgh - University of Melbourne

Thomas Antwi-Bosiakoh - Macquarie University

2013 - 2014

In July 2012, TASA Executive agreed to establish a Postgraduate Sub-Committee from 2013 as the role

had expanded since its commencement in 2003. In the 2013-2014 period, this sub-committee expanded

from an initial two (2) members through to a total of eight (8) members. The eight (8) representatives were:

Karen Soldatic - UNSW (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

Thomas Antwi Bosiakoh - Macquare University

Monika Dryburgh - Melbourne University

Laura Gobey - Deakin University

Jennie Haarsager-Lieske - University of Sunshine Coast

Anthony Kimpton - University of Queensland

Ashlin Lee - University of Tasmania

Adrian Lui - Macquarie University

Ly Phan - University of Sydney