Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
To make changes to this page:
First right click on the news widget or event widgets to filter them by category for this thematic group.

To change the names in the right hand purple column, simply select the text and re-type the name. To change the image, right click on the image and select "change image" from the popup context menu. The image doesn't need to be square - but should be relatively square. When the page is displayed at run-time, some code will execute and the image will change to a circle.The extra white space between the member names in the right hand purple column will be removed when the page is displayed. It doesn't matter if there is some extra space between the members here.

To change the links below the members "view members, blog, recent publications", etc right click on the link and select "Change link" from the popup context menu. Use the menu builder to make a new link. You can filter the membership directory by subgroup and a few other parameters. Maybe that will help.

The facebook feed on this page is loaded differently than other pages. Do not remove the link below the twitter feed widget.

To change the video click in the white space beneath the video, and press backspace to delete the video.
Then use the media embed icon in the editor toolbar to paste in the youtube embed code. CHANGE THE WIDTH to 100%, and the height to 200px in the code they provide.


Before reading any further! if you are a TASA Postgraduate member, we encourage you to cast your vote, by December 15th, 2020,  for the 2021-2022 Postgraduate Sub-Committee members via the voting button below.

Vote now for the Postgraduate Sub-Committee 2021-2022

Welcome to the TASA Postgrads page!

TASA has a large group of Postgraduate (Honours, Masters and PhD) members. The Postgrad Sub-Committee represents these members on the TASA Executive Committee and is responsible for running a range of events and initiatives for Postgrad members. Check out our Postgraduate Terms of Reference.

The big annual event for Postgrad members is Postgrad Day at the annual TASA conference. This day usually includes networking with other Postgrads, mentoring from established academics and a range of thematic workshops on relevant issues including Writing Abstracts, Supervisory Relationships, Grant Writing and Getting Published. 

The TASA Postgrad Sub-Committee has an active Twitter presence (@tasapostgrads) and is always excited to hear from members.

Want to know more about TASA and why you should join? Check out...

What is TASA?

What are Thematic Groups?

Outgoing Sub-Committee Members:

  1. Ben Lohmeyer (Chair/elected Postgraduate Portfolio Leader)

  2. Marina Khan – Western Sydney University

  3. Simon Copland – Australian National University

  4. Claire Moran – Monash University

  5. Emma Barnard – The University of Melbourne

  6. Anthony Smith – The University of New South Wales


The first Postgraduate Executive position began in 2003 and it is now in its ninth successive term (2019-2020). In 2013, the Postgraduate Sub-Committee was established by the then Postgraduate Executive Representative, Karen Soldatic, for the term 2014 – 2015.

TASA hold committee Elections every 2 years. The next one is scheduled for mid-2020 for 2021-2022 Executive positions. Key areas of focus for the sub-committee include international networks with similar postgraduate organisations, TASA Postgraduate web strategies and information, and postgraduate transitions to employment. Since forming, the committee has worked together on several projects including this new website.

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events

Recent News

Recent Articles
Recent Articles

Sub-committee Members

Postgrad Portfolio Leader
Ben Lohmeyer

Flinders University

Marina Khan
Western Sydney University

Simon Copland
Australian National University

Anthony Smith
UNSW, Sydney